1 Reconnaissance Regiment / 1 Special Forces Regiment

“Through Stealth Our Strength”

Established as 1 Reconnaissance Commando at Oudtshoorn in 1972, this was the first Special Forces unit formally established in South Africa. In 1974 (begin 1975) , 1 Reconnaissance Commando relocated to Durban.

As the development of the South African Special Forces capability evolved, the compliment of 1 Reconnaissance Commando was divided into three groups – known as Alpha Group, Bravo Group and Charlie Group – each with its own speciality.

During 1976/7, the Reconnaissance Commando School was also established as a part of 1 Reconnaissance Commando.

In 1981, 1 Reconnaissance Commando was redesignated as 1 Reconnaissance Regiment, and the complement of the Regiment were divided into two commandos:-

1.1. Commando – the Operational Commando (Motto: “The Night Belongs To 1.1.”)
1.2. Commando – the Training Wing Commando.

Operators from 1.2. Commando also performed operational functions with 1.1. Commando as and when required.

During the period of rationalisation, reorganisation and integration, from 1992 to 1995, 1 Reconnaissance Regiment was firstly renamed 452 Parachute Battalion, before being finally redesignated as 1 Special Forces Regiment.

The unit was was disbanded in 1996 as part of a military rationalization process and unit members were transferred to other Special Forces regiments.
The responsibilities of the Special Forces School were divided between 4 and 5 Special Forces Regiments.

                                                                                             Unit Entrance at the Bluff

   Old Whaling Station (Used for Training)                             Shooting Range

                Entrance to Unit HQ

The Recces - We Fear Naught but God