The Special Forces School

The Special Forces School is responsible for the presentation of the Special Forces Pre Selection and Selection courses, the Basic Operators Training Cycle, and many other of the Special Forces courses which Qualified Operators can and will attend throughout their career.

The Special Forces School was first established as the Reconnaissance Commando School at 1 Reconnaissance Commando in Durban, on the 1st May 1976.

The name of the School was thereafter changed to the Training Wing of 1 Reconnaissance Commando / 1 Reconnaissance Regiment / 1 Special Forces Regiment.

With the retirement of 1 Special Forces Regiment in 1997, the Training Wing was moved to 5 Special Forces Regiment in Phalaborwa. Additionally, some of the courses that had previously been presented at the Training Wing were now moved to 4 Special Forces Regiment in Langebaan for presentation there.

In 2002, the Special Forces School was for the first time established as a stand-alone entity, and it opened at its location at Murrayhill North of Pretoria. The training courses that were previously presented at 5 Special Forces Regiment since the transference of the Training Wing to that Regiment were now moved to the Special Forces School.

The Special Forces Pre Selection, Selection and Basic Operators Training Cycle are now presented at or by the Special Forces School, as well as many other of the Special Forces courses that Qualified Operators may attend throughout their career.

The Recces - We Fear Naught but God